1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email

Islamic Holidays


Muslims have two major religious observances each year, and corresponding holidays connected with each one: Ramadan, Eid-al-Fitr, Hajj, and Eid-al-Adha. Some Muslims acknowledge other events from Islamic history, which are considered holidays by some but not all Muslims.
  1. Introduction
  2. Ramadan
  3. Eid al-Fitr
  1. Hajj
  2. Eid al-Adha
  3. Other Days


In addition to specific information on each of the Islamic holidays, there is general information that will be of use year-round: how to greet Muslims on their holidays, and where to find Islamic greeting cards for any occasion.


Waxing Crescent Moon, NASA

Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic lunar calendar. Every day during this month, Muslims around the world spend the daylight hours in a complete fast.

Eid al-Fitr

The "Festival of Fast Breaking" comes at the end of Ramadan.


The Hajj, or Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca, is required of every able-bodied Muslim who can afford to travel. It is the largest gathering of humanity at any one time, attracting close to 3 million people every year. The Hajj has been performed by Muslims annually for the past 14 centuries, and is the culminating spiritual experience for a Muslim.

Eid al-Adha

The "Festival of Sacrifice" is celebrated at the end of the Hajj pilgrimage.

Other Days

Muslims universally celebrate the two Eid holidays. There are a few other observances during the year which may be recognized by Muslims as well.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.